Nanded Municipal Corporation poll results: Counting underway

The results of the 81-seat Nanded-Waghala Municipal Corporation (NWMC) will be announced today. The battle is between the ruling BJP and the Congress.

With the counting of voted underway, the Congress is currently taking the lead with 20 seats while BJP, Shiv Sena have 1 each. Meanwhile, BJP’s Sandeep Gavai won the Nagpur Municipal Corporation’s by-election from ward number 35-A

In an intense campaigning, the Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadnavis had addressed a high-pitched rally days before the polling on Wednesday. He targeted the Congress and the Shiv Sena.

On the other hand, the Congress which seeks to retian the civic body is being speaheaded by Former Maharashtra Chief Minister Ashok Chavan.

The voting for the polls witnessed 60 per cent turnout.